Category: new album

In 2019, PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS, the California-based band featuring Ted Leonard (lead vocals & guitars), Jimmy Keegan (drums & vocals), Dave Meros (bass) and John Boegehold (keyboards), presented its much-lauded eponymous debut.

Just a year later, the group releases its second opus, “Prehensile Tales”, to be released through InsideOut Music on May 15th, 2020.

As a first track from the forthcoming new album, PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS now reveal ‘Here In My Autumn’, John Boegehold comments:

“The tale of a man clinging to a chapter in his life that’s become impossible to return to yet impossible to forget. Of course that describes much of life itself, doesn’t it?”

Birmingham based
metallers Atarka are set to release their new album “Sleeping Giant” on March
27th. The band’s latest single “Tollund Man” was played on Kerrang!
Radio and the video premiered on Pure Grain Audio.

New Paradise Lost! New album out on 15th May titled Obsidian…

, hailing from Brisbane, Australia, a leading
light in contemporary progressive metal worldwide, are pleased to announce their fifth studio
album ‘Rise Radiant’ for release on the 22nd May 2020.

Antichrist Demoncore – or ACxDC for short – have inked a deal with Prosthetic Records and are preparing to release their first album for the label, Satan Is King. The album is due for release on 5 May.

Reformed in 2017 after a ten year hiatus, the UK’s most devastating death/doom stalwarts, ATAVIST, triumphantly return in 2020 with a brand new studio album. Titled III: Absolution, the album will be released via Candlelight Records on 19th June.

Featuring Winterfylleth guitarist and vocalist, C. Naughton, along with bassist S. Ryan, drummer C. Cox and vocalist T. Bradshaw, their creative forces meld once again on III: Absolution. ATAVIST present something otherworldly, unique and sonically powerful on this album; highlighting, even after so long, a band capable of creating uncompromising and essential music that can still rival its peers’ at the top of the genre.

Guitarist C. Naughton commented: “This is a soundtrack that travels through the depths of human emotion, from losing everything, mourning loss, realising your own mind, right through to finding your way again. Ultimately finding Absolution at the end of that journey. There is no joy here, only relief at the end of an arduous voyage.”

III: Absolution also features the haunting string performances of prominent solo artist Jo Quail on Cello (Mono/My Dying Bride), as well as the exceptional talents of Bianca Blezard on Viola/Violin (Winterfylleth). The album furthermore incorporates some new twists and turns along the way, featuring a number of moving, atmospheric, synth landscapes from the ever talented Winterfylleth/ARD keyboardist Mark Deeks, to complement the doom.

KANSAS, America’s legendary progressive rock band,
will release their highly anticipated new studio album “The Absence
Presence” on 26th June 2020.

This Autumn, KANSAS will
be taking its very popular Point of Know Return Anniversary Tour to
Europe for 13 dates in October and November. The Point of Know Return
Anniversary European Tour will include songs from “The Absence of Presence,”
classic hits and deep cuts, and will culminate with the iconic album “Point of
Know Return” performed in its entirety.

October 18 – London,
England – Palladium

October 20 – Frankfurt,
Germany – Jahrhunderthalle

October 21 – Hamburg,
Germany – Docks

October 23 – Tampere,
Finland – Tamperetalo

October 24 – Helsinki,
Finland – Culture House

October 26 – Stockholm,
Sweden – Cirkus

October 27 – Oslo,
Norway – Sentrum Scene

October 29 – Berlin,
Germany – Tempodrom

October 31 – Brussels,
Belgium – Cirque Royal

November 3 – Munich,
Germany – Circus Krone

November 5 – Heilbronn,
Germany – Harmonie

November 9 – Bochum,
Germany – RuhrCongress

November 10 – Amsterdam,
Holland – Carre Theatre

Singer-songwriter supreme
Rufus Wainwright has announced the release of his long awaited new album. UNFOLLOW THE RULES out on BMG Friday, April 24

You can watch the wonderfully animated by Josh Shaffner for Damsel in Distress here:

’Damsel In Distress’ is an
homage to Joni Mitchell in some ways,” says Wainwright, “particularly the
structure. My husband and I now live in Laurel Canyon. I wasn’t that familiar
with Joni’s music but Jörn became obsessed and took me on a journey into her
music. We ended up hanging out with her and I get now why she’s one of the
greats. So it’s part Laurel Canyon, part a song about a personal relationship
that I’m trying to come to terms with, but mostly my Mitchell virginity being

“What I would like this
album to symbolize is a coming together of all the aspects of my life which
have made me a seasoned artist,” says Wainwright. “My aim is to emulate the
greats of yore whose second acts produced their finest work – Leonard Cohen
when he made THE FUTURE, when Sinatra became Sinatra in his 40s, when Paul
Simon put out GRACELAND. Pop music isn’t always about your waistline. Many
songwriters improve with age. I’m flying the flag for staying alive!”
Rufus plays the following UK
and Ireland dates.
Fri 24th                 
Islington Assembly Hall (two shows)
Sat 1st
Kelvingrove Park
Sun 2nd               
CO WATERFORD, All Together Now

Tracklisting for
‘Unfollow The Rules’
1. Trouble in Paradise
2. Damsel in Distress
3. Unfollow The Rules
4. You Ain’t Big
5. Romantical Man
6. Peaceful Afternoon
7. Only The People That Love
8. This One’s For The Ladies (That Lunge)
9. My Little You
10. Early Morning Madness
11. Hatred
12. Alone Time

February 28th sees the release of ‘See You See Me’, the third album from eclecto-pop masters, The Dowling Poole. The album follows the release of three singles – ‘Keeping The Stupid, Stupid’, ‘Made In Heaven’ and  ‘Hope’ which also has an accompanying video.

“I guess ‘Hope’ might be best described as a modern day take on Stoicism”, says Willie Dowling. “After a tumultuous four years and more of earth-shaking world events, following in ever-quickening succession, it occurred to us that it isn’t the disasters and uncertainty that cause despair, so much as the hope that intermittently promises something better, before deserting the scene and hurling us all back into a storm of uncertainty.”

"This new album further stretches the breadth of what we have been interested in musically on our last two albums”, says Jon Poole. “It’s never been a deliberate effort to adapt, it just seems that with each album we end up incorporating hints of styles that we haven’t looked at before, according to what the song of the moment demands of us. I guess it keeps it more interesting for us that way.”

August Burns Red are back – watch the Marvel inspired video for Defender above, new album Guardians out on April 3rd via fearless Records.